21 Aug. Den Haag (The Hague)

Brugge 2006.8.20 train 8.20 Liège 8.21 Bruxelles-Midi 08:46 train 10:38 Rotterdam Centraal 8.21 NS 8.21 Den Haag

Den Haag 2006.8.21 NS 8.21 Rotterdam Centraal

Arnaud woke me up for three times he said, but I remember only twice. Anyway I arrived at Rotterdam, Netherlands successfully with his help.

I heard that there’s very cheap accommodation near the station which I didn’t expect at all. But it was not easy to find. I had to wait until 5pm to open. And I needed to come back before the lockers to be closed. So I decided to visit Den Haag first and visit Rotterdam tomorrow.

Den Haag is Dutch name which is The Hague in English. I’d known that this city was famous for its political history. I learned that when Korea was under Japanese colonist’s control, `헤이그특사파견’ happened. I don’t know that in English. Because I learned that in high school.

There were many international flags around the city and also most of each country’s embassies look located here but the capital, Amsterdam. This is more than I expected. It meant that this city is still playing its own role for this country.

There was also another region called `Scheveningen’, north of Den Haag by seaside. It was facing North Sea. I could feel the past time of Dutch colonial era. I thought that if I get any boat from there, I’ll be able to reach any UK’s port in a minute. I’m missing the time I spent in Britain.

Anyway, I had to take a tram not to lose the train goes back to Rotterdam. I felt asleep a little bit and I realised that some girls were teasing me. They were talking in Dutch but I could feel it. They might have thought that I would never understand Dutch at all. I’d like to speak as many languages as I can.

I checked-in the hostel and went to bed early. I realised today, the weather in this country including Belgium is almost similar with British weather which used to be called as `London weather’. Of course here is a little bit better than Britain I think.

Reply

