14 Oct. Vigo, Santiago de Compostela

Porto Campanhã 2006.10.14 08:05 IN421 12:15 Vigo

Vigo 2006.10.14 15:45 RENFE 17:36 Santiago

Santiago 2006.10.15 train 10.15 Bilbao

I expected to get up at six but got up at seven, thanks to bunkbed’s noise. The French guy was not sleeping properly. I’ll have to say thanks to him. Otherwise I couldn’t get on the train early in the morning. I had to change at Vigo to go to Santiago de Compostela.

Vigo is not really famous so even my ROUGH guide doesn’t have any words about this city. But John, my roommate in London, is from this city so I changed my mind to stay three hours in Vigo. I sent a text to ask where to visit. He replied me to be a cafe ‘Canela’ which is running by his family. There was nobody speaking English properly but John gave a ring to them before I got there. And my poor Spanish also helped me.

I had a pasta with Gambas, vino bianco, and chocolate drink. They also served me two cutlets more and some biscuits with drink. Service was very good but it was not just a small cafe, so they were busy. When I asked a bill, they said ‘John invited you’ but I paid €10 as a tip. They also gave me a map which I asked to John by phone. I was very happy after leaving the cafe. I visited places where John recommended then get back to train station. We were on the phone again and thank you to each others. I arrived at Santiago de Compostela a few hours later.

It was very efficient town to walk around. I looked around old town with my bag because the hostel was not in the central area. I went to the hostel a bit far away by bus and did my laundry for the last time in Europe this year. I’ll have finished travelling just in one week!

Reply

