16 Oct. Bayonne, Bordeaux

Bilbao TermiBus 2006.10.16 11:00 Turytrans 12:40 Hendaye 10.16 SNCF 10.16 Bayonne

Bayonne 2006.10.16 14:46 TGV8558 16:19 Bordeaux St Jean

Bordeaux St Jean 2006.10.16 TGV8584 10.16 Tours

I went out after having breakfast, met a Korean girl at the bus stop by chance. She told me that out of centre has good scenes but I didn’t have enough time I couldn’t even visit the old centre. I just walked to see the famous Guggenheim. Unfortunately it closed on Monday like Prado in Madrid. It was also closed when I’ve been there. I took a bus to France at last. Interesting thing is that I couldn’t realise when the bus passed the border from Spain to France. It happened just in two minutes. I changed to train, people were speaking French of course. There was a direct train to Bordeaux but I wanted to be dropped at Bayonne, the capital of French Basque, because I wasn’t satisfied my visiting Bilbao, the Spanish Basque capital. But the train had been delayed again. In the morning, the bus had not come more than half an hour from the hostel’s bus stop, and one bus had just passed through, which couldn’t have seen us, me and the Korean girl. Finally, I had only about half an hour to visit Bayonne, I walked quickly to cross a main bridge and took some photos. I saw green and red which are symbol of Basque. I back to station and arrived at Bordeaux by TGV.

Bordeaux is famous for its products of wine as everybody knows. It was too late to visit with guides but I was able to taste wines at Maison du Vin. I become a bit drunk, but happy enough. I took a TGV again after looked around the central area. But the train had been delayed for about an hour! Today’s transportation luck was probably the worst. I arrived at Tours. There were no vacancies in a hostel but checked in to a booked room.

Reply

