2010.9.27 Hualien 花蓮 – Taroko Gorge 太魯閣峽谷

Su-ao 2010.9.26 train 9.26 Hualien 9.27 bus 9.27 Taroko

Taroko 2010.9.27 bus 9.27 Hualien

Hualien 2010.9.28 自强號 9.28 Taipei

While talking with other guys staying in a same dorm room during the night before, I realised there were free buses to Taroko Gorge frequently. So I took the buses. I stopped at 天祥, 九曲洞, 燕子口, and visitor center for Shakadang Trail, then back to Hualien city. It was sad that only a little part of 九曲洞 was opened to public, which has the best scenic beauty, because of recent Typhoon. And I had to wait for the next bus for nearly two hours with nothing to do. So I decided to walk to 燕子口. It took about an hour. My three days old watch, which I bought in duty free shop, was scratched while passing one of dark tunnels on that way.

After my coming back to Hualien city, I walked around. Near ‘Martyr’s Shrine’, I found some Taiwanese military posts. It was interesting but I didn’t take any photos, because taking photos might make a problem.

It was funny that I met two guys in the street by chance, who were talking at a lobby of the hostel we were staying. They recognised me because I asked them a simple question last night. They were pleased to guide me to the most famous restaurant for ‘Dumpling soup’. After eating that, they guided me to eat something else together again and again. It was very lucky for me to see them in the street by chance. Their home city is Taipei but they were there because they just retired from Taiwanese military service a day before!

One of the guys gave me a ride with his rent-a-scooter to the hostel we were staying. After having a shower, we had beer until 2 with two more other travellers from Hongkong. Making new friends while travelling is always lovely.

Reply

